Fortune And Glory, Kid

June 2, 2009

E3, Sony Style

Filed under: E3, Rant, videogames — Tags: , , , , , , — feenwager @ 11:54 pm

The final press conference. Let’s see what Sony’s got to say.

•    Nice work taking a shot at your own press leaks, Jack.
•    Jack: we have a larger screen than the other press conferences. Also, look at my immense penis.
•    Facts and figures: boring.
•    According to Sony, inFamous is good. And popular. Thanks for the update.
•    You have no idea how happy I am that Uncharted has become a franchise. Uncharted 2: Among Thieves may be my most anticipated game this year.
•    Holy. Shit. UC2 looks fucking amazing.
•    Now MAG. The Massive Action Game…game.
•    Did they import seat fillers and pay them to applaud? People weren’t rooting as much at the other press conferences.
•    Here’s my prediction about MAG: within 2 weeks of release, 1% of the players will get so good that it won’t be fun for the other 99% anymore. Count on it.
•    Why did a bunch of guys just applaud a Lilac colored PSP?
•    It’s Kaz! Say something crazy, please!
•    PSP GO. Not replacing the PSP OG. Riiiiight.
•    Why do I have a feeling that this new media manager dealy for the PSP doesn’t work on Mac?
•    Sony is trying to really position the PSP as a music machine. Nope. Not gonna happen.
•    $249? Ummm…yeah…that’s probably not gonna go well.
•    Let me make this clear: I think the PSP is really cool. I don’t see a need for the PSP GO in my life.
•    I hope that next guy wasn’t warning of an impending attack by Godzilla, because I skipped it the minute Grand Turismo’s logo showed up.
•    Hideo “Whore” Kojima just announced another Metal Gear game I won’t be playing. Zabadoo!
•    We need a montage! Everything’s better in a montage! Well, I guess I better go charge up my PSP.
•    Playstation Home: No. Really. It’s working exactly how we’d hoped. Really. Please use it. C’mon! No? Ok. Sorry to bother you.
•    Another montage? Jeez, Sony…slow it down a bit.
•    Agent: exclusive PS3 game from Rockstar set in the 1970’s? Huh, how about that?
•    Assassin’s Creed 2 gameplay footage. Looks cool. It also looks like it’s going to be hard not to beat the snot out of everyone at what looks like a giant Ren-Faire.
•    More FFXIII. We get it. It’s good. We’re all going to buy it. Move on.
•    And here’s why it’s not finished…Final Fantasy XIV. An MMO…exclusive to the PS3. Well, that’s certainly a big announcement. Gotta say I simply don’t care. I happily skipped FFXI, and I’ll most likely never play this one.
•    And here’s Sony’s magic motion controller. Whatever. Wake me up when there are games that are worth playing with these things.
•    ModNation Racers? Not doing anything for me, guys.
•    The Last Guardian: anyone else getting a Neverending Story vibe here? Or perhaps Pete’s Dragon? Certainly looks cool.
•    More Gran Turismo. More not caring.
•    God Of War III: Looks awesome, but you already knew that, didn’t you?

Overall, I think the exclusives for Sony look pretty great. I still think Microsoft has them beat with multi-platform games based on Xbox Live, Achievements, Community, and a better controller. That doesn’t bode well for the PS3 emerging as the “victor” but I think it should enable it to carve out a large enough niche to remain relevant.
Oh, yeah…I guess the PS3 Slim wasn’t the real deal? Or maybe that was never intended to be an E3 announcement? No price drop either, that seems a bit odd. Although, they can’t really go to $299 on the PS3 when the PSP GO is $249.

PS: Would it have killed you to show some Ratchet? Humbug.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.